Globalization, infrastructure investments and safeguards

Regional Infrastructure Monitoring Alliance (RIMA)

Since Davos 2017 at the latest, we have been experiencing a changing world order in which China, as a counterpart to the USA, defends the system of "free trade" and wants to establish its own international rules (keyword: new trade arbitration tribunals, new human rights narratives, etc.). However, the changing world order is also characterised by an increasing restriction of democratic leeway (keyword: shrinking spaces), a strengthening of authoritarian regimes, threats to religious freedom as well as ecological destruction, poverty and human rights violations.

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) also include the development of "sustainable, resilient, high-quality infrastructure" (UN). China's annual foreign investment is estimated at US$ 140 billion. Multilateral development banks (MDBs) are also actively involved in this global sustainability project. In sharp contrast, however, is the lack of accountability of the economic players involved.

To strengthen this, the Regional Infrastructure Monitoring Alliance (RIMA) is to be established. With the kind support of the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation and in cooperation with the NGO Forum on ADB, an umbrella organisation of regionally organised civil society groups, as well as the Bangladesh Working Group on External Debt (BWGED), Coastal Livelihood and Environmental Action (CLEAN) and numerous individual supporters, civil society actors meet here regularly to exchange experiences. The experts have been campaigning for many years for compliance with regulations to mitigate social and ecological damage caused by large infrastructure projects. RIMA supports climate protection, human rights and economic self-determination. It creates a forum against over-indebtedness and destruction of biodiversity.

Concrete actions include:

  •     Mapping case studies/hotspot analyses.
  •     Creating a database of case studies of energy infrastructure projects accessible to the network
  •     Developing strategies to protect livelihoods, climate and biodiversity

Kontakt

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dr. Nora Sausmikat

    Dr. Nora Sausmikat
    China desk/Campaigns on Multilateral Development Banks
    nora.sausmikat [at] urgewald.org

→  Unser Team

30 Jahre urgewald 🎉   mehr lesen >> weiterlesen

Globalisierung, Infrastrukturinvestitionen und Sorgfaltspflichten

Regionale Infrastruktur Monitoring Allianz (RIMA)

SpÀtestens seit Davos 2017 erleben wir eine sich verÀndernde Weltordnung, in der China als Gegenspieler der USA das System des "Freihandels" verteidigt und eigene internationale Regelwerke etablieren will (Stichwort: neue Handelsschiedsgerichte, neue Menschenrechtsnarrative etc.). Die sich verÀndernde Weltordnung ist aber auch gekennzeichnet durch eine zunehmende EinschrÀnkung demokratischer SpielrÀume (Stichwort Shrinking Spaces), ein Erstarken autoritÀrer Regime, Bedrohungen der Religionsfreiheit sowie ökologische Zerstörung, Armut und Menschenrechtsverletzungen.

Die nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele (SDGs) schließen auch den Ausbau von "nachhaltiger, belastbarer, qualitativ hochwertiger Infrastruktur" (UN) mit ein. Die jĂ€hrlichen chinesischen Auslandsinvestitionen werden auf 140 Mrd. US-Dollar geschĂ€tzt. Auch die multilateralen Entwicklungsbanken sind aktiv an diesem globalen Nachhaltigkeitsprojekt beteiligt. In scharfem Kontrast dazu steht jedoch die mangelnde Rechenschaftspflicht der beteiligten Wirtschaftsakteure.

Um diese zu stĂ€rken soll die Regionale Infrastruktur Monitoring Allianz (RIMA) aufgebaut werden. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem NGO Forum on ADB, einem Dachverband regional organisierter zivilgesellschaftlicher Gruppen, sowie der Bangladesh Working Group on External Debt (BWGED), der Coastal Livelihood and Environmental Action (CLEAN) und zahlreichen EinzelunterstĂŒtzer*innen, treffen sich hier regelmĂ€ĂŸig zivilgesellschaftliche Akteur*innen zum Erfahrungsaustausch. Die Expert*innen setzen sich seit vielen Jahren fĂŒr die Einhaltung von Regulierungen zur Minderung sozialer und ökologischer SchĂ€den durch große Infrastrukturprojekte ein. RIMA unterstĂŒtzt Klimaschutz, Menschenrechte und wirtschaftliche Selbstbestimmung. Es schafft ein Forum gegen Überschuldung und Zerstörung der BiodiversitĂ€t.

Konkrete Aktionen umfassen:

  • Mapping von Fallstudien/Hotspot-Analysen
  • Erstellung einer fĂŒr das Netzwerk zugĂ€nglichen Datenbank zu Fallstudien von Energieinfrastrukturprojekten
  • Entwicklung von Strategien zum Schutz von Lebensgrundlagen, Klima und BiodiversitĂ€t.

Kontakt

    Bild Anprechpartner   Dr. Nora Sausmikat

    Dr. Nora Sausmikat
    China Desk / Kampagnen zu multilateralen Finanzinstitutionen
    nora.sausmikat [at] urgewald.org

→  Unser Team